What is it?

The English Baccalaureate (Ebacc) is a performance measure for schools, rather than a qualification, and is awarded when students achieve the higher grades (A* to C or 9 to 4).

The Ebacc was launched as a government initiative to encourage schools in England to promote a range of academic subjects to age 16.

The 5 core subjects making up the English Baccalaureate are...

English GCSE

Students taking both English Language and English Literature need to achieve A* to C (9 to 4) in at least one of these

Maths GCSE


Students need to achieve one of the following...

A* to C (9 to 4) in Core and Additional Science GCSE (in core and additional science, pupils take 2 modules in each of the 3 main sciences of biology, chemistry and physics)

A* to C (9 to 4) in at least 2 of the 3 Single Science GCSEs. The single sciences are Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science and Physics)

A* to C (9 to 4) in GCSE Science Double Award (in Science Double award pupils take 2 GCSE exams that cover the 3 main sciences of Biology, Chemistry and Physics)

A Humanities GCSE subject (Geography or History for example)

A Language GCSE

The English Baccalaureate should not be confused with the International Baccalaureate or the AQA Baccalaureate that are distinct qualifications available only at A-level.