Career tools

> My bookmarks

A Levels

Sign in or register to add to 'Bookmarks' in 'My Career Tools'

Why choose A Levels?

i stock reuse

i stock reuse

A Levels and AS Levels are Level 3 qualifications that you can choose to take after your GCSEs (there are lots of other options too - check them out on the Qualification Planner).

You can take A Levels in schools, sixth form centres or at a Further Education College. They are very well regarded by universities and employers.

A Levels will give you a chance to find out about your GCSE subjects in greater depth or you can choose to study one of the subjects that many schools and colleges only offer at A Level such as Law, Economics or Psychology.  They are good preparation if you are thinking of going onto higher education or if you are not sure of your career plans as they can keep your options open.

Changes to A Levels

The changes to A levels courses and exams will be complete by 2017.These changes mean A level courses now have more exams than course work and the AS qualification no longer counts towards the A level. If you want to find out more about these changes you can read more about it here.

How many GCSEs will I need to start an A Level course?



To study A Levels you will need to have done well in your GCSEs. Most schools and colleges will expect you to have gained A*-C grades (4-9 in new grades) in your GCSEs with a minimum of grade c (grade 4)  in English Language and Maths. Specific requirements can vary from four passes to six passes, so you should check with each institution. Often you will need a GCSE at grade B (grade 6/7) or above in a subject if you want to go on to study it at A Level.

How long does an A level course last and how many should I take?

A full A Level qualification is achieved after 2 years of study. How many you take depends on how well you have done in your GCSEs and what the school or college suggests would be best for you. Some students with very high grades (A*/A grade) GCSEs take 4 A levels, but most students take 3 subjects. Different schools and colleges can offer a different range of subjects and a different combination of options – A levels on their own or with or without AS levels or the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ).

AS level qualifications

AS qualifications attract UCAS points, but no longer contribute towards an A level and are independent qualifications. Some schools and colleges will offer these as part of their offer, but not all, so you will need to do your research. You might want to consider a school or college who can offer you AS levels if you are not entirely sure that you want to continue in full time post 16 education for 2 years. If you opt for an A level course and decide to leave at the end of the first year, you will not have any additional qualifications unless you have taken an AS.

Extended Project Qualification (EPQ)

Some schools are also offering the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ) and this attracts UCAS points. Many universities look favourably on the EPQ as it develops the student’s ability to work independently. Read this  Which University article to find out more.

Vocational qualifications alongside A Levels

It is possible to combine vocational qualifications such as BTEC Level 3 qualifications or OCR qualifications with A Levels. These qualifications attract UCAS points in the same way as A Levels do.

After A Levels

Both universities and employers really value A Levels.

After AS or A Level qualifications, many students continue their study or training through an apprenticeship, vocational qualification or a higher education course at a university or college. 

Grades and points

A Levels are graded A*-E and these are all regarded as pass grades and gain UCAS points towards entrance to higher education. The points awarded for A Levels, AS Levels and other qualifications are sometimes called 'tariff points' or UCAS points (after UCAS, the admissions service for higher education). Different universities and colleges and different courses require a different amount of UCAS points. When you apply to university, your offer may be based on points or on grades. 

Some employers now specify a required number of UCAS points for some of their jobs or apprenticeships.

To see just how many points you could gain for grades and qualifications look at the Tariff tables on the UCAS website. If your qualification does not appear, contact the Admissions Department at the university or college that offers the course you are interested in to check whether it will be considered.

Changes to UCAS Tariff in 2017

From 2017, the University Central Admissions Service (UCAS) will introduce a new tariff (points awarded for your A Level, AS, BTEC, etc, grades) which will take into account the changes to AS and A Levels. As UCAS says -the change to new UCAS Tariff points will not in itself change entry requirements for university or college courses. UCAS are just changing the numbers they use.

UCAS - Tariff 2017

What do you think about Careerpilot?

A £10 Amazon Voucher could be yours!

Click to complete the Careerpilot survey - it takes 3 minutes!